Course Details

Lecture Series

Day 1

  • Bone biology and the Epidemiology of Osteoporosis
  • Essentials of Treatment of Osteoporosis
  • Radiation in bone densitometry
  • Principles of bone mass measurement - DXA
  • Essential Anatomy
  • Introduction to Statistics for Densitometry
  • Interpretation of DXA and Reporting DXA scans
  • Workshop 1 (manufacturer specific)
    • Split into Technologists/Doctor Groups
  • Techniques of DXA scanning – acquisition and analysis
  • Interactive session with tutors

Day 2

  • Pitfalls of DXA Errors in reporting
  • Paediatric DXA and other extensions
  • Lateral Vertebral Assessment (LVA)
  • DXA Quality Assurance (QA/QC)
  • Information systems management in DXA
  • Exam Details
  • Accreditation
  • Workshop 2 Interactive Session with Tutors (manufacturer specific)
    • Split into Technologists/Doctor Groups
    • Includes professional issues in Densitometry for Technologists
  • Advanced DXA and Body Composition
  • DXA Reporting Interactive Session

CPD Points

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) points for this course are approved by the following professional bodies:
  •  0.5 points/hour from AIR (category B). The course has 16 contact hours giving a total of 8 points
  • 29 points from the RANZCR
  • The ANZAPNM and the ESA as part of the RANZCP have a standard number of points for training meetings and accept the course for CPD
  • 4 points from the ANZSNM


Course participants are required to organise their own accommodation.

EPA Details

Completing this course satisfies the requirements of radiation safety legislation in most Australian states and ARPANSA for licencing of DXA operators. Please consult your state Environment Protection Authority (EPA) Radiation Protection Branch or equivalent, see websites below.

South Australian residents may sit an additional SA EPA approved on-line examination covering legislation to obtain a DXA operator licence. This requires an 80% pass mark in addition to passing the ONZ examination.

South Australia -
Victoria -
New South Wales -
Queensland -
Western Australia -
Tasmania - 
NT -
New Zealand -